Writers, Yesterday and Today

Searching the internet we can find most anything now days.  I thought I’d never hear my self say this but…”In my day… we had to do things the hard way.”  We had encyclopedias, libraries and as a last resort we would search out other actual people who had experienced things we were writing about.

The young people today, have no idea how involved the research or how intense the drive of the writer had to be to fill the pages. There was a time when Goggle was not a verb!  A time when we wrote in journals and diaries not on computer screens that did all the editing for us, and told us how awful our grammar was.

I find it difficult to identify with the young writer today , who tweets, blogs, facebooks their way through life.  When you have to have a PC or device with you at all times, and reference it in mid sentence or thought constantly, you make me feel as if I am not important enough to be bothered with.  I’ve seen whole families in restaurants all with heads bent to their phones/devices silent just waiting for food to arrive gobble it down and return to their own interest. They were actually texting people sitting next to them at the table. WTH?  See I can do techie! lol

I am all for progress but when does this begin to move us as a whole backwards?  Socially we meet on line, we text instead of actually talk. Our phones do every thing but pee for us- (they haven’t come up with an app for that) When they do someone’s going to make a mint!  And forget about spelling and penmanship.

Last night I was reminded that I needed to dig deeper, show not tell and the same old editors, comments riddled my current ms.   I wonder if I’ve begun to count on technology instead of emotion and experience to complete my work…Just a thought.

So today, I’m back at the craft, back at my desk, back to the past and expressing well enough to have readers feel what I went through. Hopefully they will feel like they’re not alone and someone else understands.

A good mentor- is worth more than all the worlds technology advances in one- Thanks S. B.

Write On!- Di

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

