Places for writers- old post

I have been writing for a long time. Mostly for myself and family- until I ran across the site of  fanstory.com in 2004. http://www.fanstory.com/index.jsp   There I am called Diny.

Then I started to learn the craft. People there helped me edit my book, my poetry and my thoughts.  I believe I remained true to myself and used the site for what it was originally designed for; to learn and find like minded people who also wanted to do the same. As I continued to grow I noticed the site starting to be more of a social gathering spot. I met writers from all over the world. There was a big gentle guy from Australia, a funny English lady who touched my heart and even regular guys that you would never imagine to possessed a poetic soul.  It was there I first began writing stories and attempted my first novel.

Today I revisited the site and entered a contest which doesn’t even close until after Feb 2015.

I was struck with the feeling of coming home. For no matter how much I continue to work on 2 novels and short stories etc… I will forever remain a poet at heart.

I am looking forward to attending a writers retreat next month and growing more.  It is a pleasant surprise to find writers who share the same love of words and thoughts. The expressing of such things remains a constant joy in my life. When I am down, troubled, or lost in life’s daily drama and routine it is words that take me back to where I find myself most satisfied.

Where do you go to find inspiration?

Write On!- Diny/ Diana/ Di

 

 

 

UPDATE… The writers retreat was fantastic- I want to go every year! I hope to make lots of new friends readers and colleagues, MRW rocks!- Diana

Leave a Reply

